Immigration

Visa Victory!

Well, almost!

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m not going to get a second master’s degree next year. Every time I write that it sounds so ridiculous, but still, I had applied to do it anyway and I was officially rejected on Tuesday. With that knowledge in mind, I cracked open my visa dossiers and got to work assembling the necessary paperwork for an autorisation provisoire de sejour (APS).

If you’re looking for information on my immigration process in France and the most complete information I have found, feel free to check my immigration tag, or my most recent post on the matter!

I’m currently looking at three different piles of paper, one set of originals and two copies.

I have:

  1. My titre de séjour card, and two front/back copies.
  2. My passport, and two copies of the identity page, and my first French visa plus my OFII stamp, although it’s not clear I’ll need that stamp in the end.
  3.  My chosen proof of residence. I have a colour copy of my electricity statement to stand as the original, considering that my electricity account is totally paperless. I also have an original quittance de loyer from July, and the copies.  I’ve helpfully highlighted my name on all the documents! I’m still on the fence about bringing my rental agreement, but I’m better safe than sorry, I think.
  4. Three identity pictures. I washed my hair this morning and put on some makeup, and I still look like a serial killer in these photos. Oh well!
  5. My grades from my first and second years of my masters, plus an attestation that I have been diplomée (diplomaed?) by my university. I will likely have to present my actual diploma and a copy when I pick up my APS later this year.

After my most recent experience at the prefecture, I have a battle plan for Friday.

I need to arrive early. I plan on getting up, throwing on my workout clothes, and going down to the prefecture around 6:30am to arrive for 7am. I’ll bring a paper and a pen to start the list, but I’m guessing someone will already be there. If I can be between first and 10th in line, I will be very happy. I need to get to my translator’s office before 11:30, and being 10th or below in line will surely make that possible.

After I’ve either created the list or put my name down, I’ll trot back up to the apartment, shower, change clothes, eat some breakfast, and get my paperwork together. I’ll want to be back to the prefecture by 8:45am at the very latest, as the doors open around 8:55am.

Once we’re inside the prefecture, it’s purely a waiting game. I’m bringing a book, my journal, and a phone charger. If it becomes clear that I won’t be able to get up to my translator’s office in time, i.e. if by 11am I am still three or four numbers away from depositing my dossier, I will ask E to take a copy of my birth certificate and visit her on my behalf.

I never thought I’d be excited to get in line at another government office, but the joy of finally knowing my next steps and being prepared to take them is palpable.

Wish me luck!

 

1 thought on “Visa Victory!”

Leave a Reply

