Consumption, Life in Paris

The Ordinary Product Review:

Two serums and two face oils for under 30€. The Ordinary is cheap, cruelty-free, and produced in Canada, but how well do the products actually perform?

I’m a picky skincare consumer. I don’t love gimmicks, and I’m trying to purchase products that are ethically produced. As a result, I pledged to myself that I would use up all of the random half-bottles of skincare products cluttering my bathroom before rebuilding my routine.

As I mentioned, I ordered skincare from the brand The Ordinary, which is a subsidiary of the brand DECIEM. Cool, Canadian, and no-frills, The Ordinary has been all over the internet for providing simple products with clearly stated percentages of active ingredients, at low prices.

Before I placed my order, I evaluated my own skincare routine and read a lot of product reviews. I had used, among other things, a serum with hyaluronic acid for hydration, and a moisturiser with niacinamide for redness relief.

As a result, I ordered four products: the hyaluronic acid 2% + B5 serum, the niacinamide 10% + zinc 1% serum, the 100% plant-derived squalane oil and the 100% organic cold-pressed rose hip seed oil. I haven’t opened the squalane yet, but here’s how everything else has performed.

On Thursday night, I patch tested the hyaluronic acid on the side of my cheek. A patch test is important because if your skin is going to react badly to a product, you don’t want to smear it everywhere. Just pick a side of your cheek, rub a little bit on, and go to bed. If you wake up without a reaction, keep testing it as long as it takes to be sure that your skin won’t react, and then begin using the product regularly.

I knew that my skin reacted well to hyaluronic acid, so once I woke up with a clear cheak on Friday, I began using the serum on my face, neck, and chest on Friday night.

While several people have reported an stronger chemical smell with the hyaluronic acid, this serum smelled like something and nothing at the same time. It has a scent, but I can’t identify it. It’s not overtly chemical, but it’s not floral or musky. It’s not like smelling water, though, so it’s hard to explain. I had to put my nose right next to my hand to smell the serum, so it doesn’t bother me at all.

I use about four or five drops of the serum in the morning and evening. It is hugely weird to see my skin react so quickly to the serum, but I swear I can see my skin looking more plump and hydrated within a few minutes of applying the serum. If it’s a placebo effect, then it’s a strong one and I love it!

I patch tested the rose hip oil on the other side of my face, which was kind of a funny experience because I tried to leave a place on my cheek that was specifically for the rose hip oil, while also moisturising everywhere else… No bad reactions occurred, and I was a little over excited so I went whole hog on Friday night. In a lucky turn of events, it didn’t make me break out, so I’ve kept using it.

Rose hip oil contains retinoic acid, which is the converted from of vitamin A, so it helps smooth the texture of the skin. The rose hip oil from The Ordinary is bright bronze, which feels odd but is apparently normal. Rose hip oil is said to spoil relatively quickly, i.e. in about six months, although the bottle says its good for a year. In order to use it up before it goes bad, I’ve started smoothing it over the dry ends of my hair and it’s made a noticeable difference in the softness and texture!

Their rose hip oil is relatively scentless, although some people suggest it should smell strongly of tea… In any case, the product works, so I’m satisfied. I will say that the oil is quite thin, and will easily drip from the glass dropper, so I have to be swift when I apply it!

I began using the niacinamide last Monday night, after a four nights of good results from the hyaluronic acid and rose hip oil.

I read that this particular niacinamide product pills up under other products, and that is correct in this case. As a result, I am only using it at night, which is fine. I am not sure how effective it is; my skin isn’t red or irritated, and I don’t have any break outs right now, but is that because my skin is in a good season or because it’s the niacinamide?

It may be the product, considering that any irritation from my sunscreen misadventures has cleared up, and I may try experimenting with the niacinamide next month to see if I can detect an obvious difference. The serum may help me regulate my skin’s oil production, so I want to give it time to do its work.

Ultimately, I am very satisfied with my order from The Ordinary. I will let you know how the squalane oil performs once I open it in the fall, but for now, things are looking very promising.

I’m thinking of getting a peeling serum in the fall, but I don’t want to use any active acids during the summer. I’m sensitive enough to sunshine as it is without also adding chemical exfoliation to my routine.

All in all, I’d recommend The Ordinary, and I hope it works for you and your skincare concerns!

 

Leave a Reply

