Habits, Life in Paris, Reflection

Rose Moon : June 9th

I had planned to visit the Jardin de Bagatelle, plan for the future, trim my hair, and dust off my suit! Here’s what actually happened.

I have to say that I didn’t take a minute to remember the moon on Friday. I was recovering from both my food poisoning/stomach drama while going through the revolving door of future decisions, thesis work, and defense preparation.

I’m not yet able to talk about my plans for the future because things are still up in the air. I was really, really wishing for clarity by the 9th of June, but there you go!

Instead of going to the Jardin des Bagatelle, I took my visiting friend up to the Cité des Sciences et de l’Industrie. He’s a science writer, and we spent a long time exploring the way that different topics are presented at the museum.

After the museum, we shared lunch in the giant park, tucked away in a corner near a blossoming arbour. To continue with the Science! theme, we went down to the Pantheon to visit the newly restored Foucault pendulum. We arrived in time to make it to the last panoramic tour of the building and it was really incredible. The climb to the top of the Pantheon was definitely scary for me, but the view was worth it. The railings at the very top are thick enough to lean against, and the coolness of the stone in the shade was well-worth the climb.

Back on the ground and circulating through the Pantheon, I got a call from my doctor about some test results. Everything was tentatively fine, and she told me that I could resume a relatively normal diet, as long as I took it easy with salad. Having passed one of the 2-for-1 milkshake spots, I took my doctor’s call as carte blanche to go and hit the milkshake happy hour with my friend.

All in all, Friday was a strange moment of  renewal. I was still fatigued, but more or less healthy again. I’ve since done a few final tests and received a clean bill of health. Still, I don’t feel like I was able to take the time to rebalance myself after the whole experience of giving in, defending, and receiving a grade for my thesis.

To that end, I’m putting together a little guide for myself on tips for rebalancing that should be up by tomorrow! It should help me take advantage of the month and feel stronger as we move toward the July full moon.

Leave a Reply

