Consumption, Finding Abundance, Life in Paris

Finding Abundance : A Mini Series

I have done a mini-series of my day-to-day life in the last semester of my graduate program, from class days to internship days, to my beloved long mornings. I write them as a time capsule of sorts, to help me remember the rhythms of my life.

I noticed myself missing consumption last week. I’m not sure why, exactly. Maybe it’s the fact that I’m able to vary my diet a bit more by using my restaurant tickets, and thus I find myself more often in the Marks and Spencer near my work, passing interesting, beautiful window displays on my way. 

Maybe it’s the weekend trips that I am planning, one for a conference in the south east and one to Seville (our Christmas gift from E’s mother!) 

Maybe it’s the warm weather, which is arriving in fits and starts, but making it very clear that I have not yet readied my summer wardrobe. 

Whatever it is, my personal shopping moratorium is feeling a little stale these days. Instead of breaking it by replacing my shoes or my jeans (both of which I’m still wearing, and nobody seems to have noticed the holes?) I’m trying something else.

In my 30 seconds of spare time every day, I’m working on taking an inventory of my possessions. I am convinced that I own more items than this feeling of shopping-scarcity would have me feel, and I want to prove it to myself.

The result of this personal inventory is another mini series of what I own as a young adult in Paris. Writing it has helped me fight off the feeling of scarcity in a very abundant life, and add further to my personal time capsule so that one day, when I am no longer young and/or no longer in Paris, I can remember what life was like. 

Over the next few weeks, although perhaps not in this order, the series will include : 

  1. Clothing
  2. Stationary
  3. Decorations
  4. Makeup 
  5. Skincare and body care
  6. Shoes
  7. Kitchen appliances
  8. Leisure activity accoutrements 
  9. Bags 
  10. Furniture
  11. Plants

I will also post a list of the blogs and other resources that inspire me to calm down and step away from my wallet when I’m feeling bored or otherwise a little deflated over my spending habits.

Leave a Reply

