Consumption, Cosmetics

April Empties : Skincare

I’m slowly using up my skincare collection, here’s what ran out in April.

I mentioned that I’m being careful with what I buy for my skin, yet I somehow wound up with a bit more product on my hands than I needed. As part of my transition toward more organic and fairly produced skincare and makeup, I’m working my way through a product hit-list.

This month, five bottles bit the dust (only four pictured, I threw one away!) plus a tube of toothpaste. I repurchased the toothpaste (duh…) but I haven’t replaced any of the other products.

The first to go was my Hydraphase Intense Serum by La Roche-Posay. I like this serum because I feel like my skin is brighter and softer in the morning. Billed as a 24 hour rehydrating, smoothing concentrate, it contains an unspecified (ugh!) percentage of hyaluronic acid, which is likely responsible for that extra softness.

I don’t intend to repurchase this exact serum, and I am instead eyeing other hyaluronic acid alternatives. In the mean time, I’m staying very hydrated, and I’ve found that while I *think* my skin is less bright as a result of not using the serum, the texture still feel very similar.

Next on the list are the Sensifine creme and Sensifine fluid by SVR. These are both favourite moisturisers of mine, and I use the creme at night and the fluid during the day.

According to SVR, their compositions break down as follows

Fluid :

6% cotton oil to nourish and soften the skin.
5% squalene, derived from cane sugar, to gently moisturize the skin
2% niacinamide to soothe and restore the barrier function

Creme :

10% cotton oil to nourish and protect the skin
8% squalene, derived from cane sugar, to gently moisturize the skin
2% niacinamide to soothe and restore the barrier function

Because of the squalene and niacinamide, I don’t think that I’ll be able to replace these with my coconut oil and achieve similar effects. I’m not terribly familiar with cotton oil, but as it isn’t organically derived, I’d like to switch products. If I were to substitute these SVR products with pure squalene and a niacinamide serum, I could probably achieve something similar to the actual moisturisers themselves. I used squalene as a moisturiser in the past and had no problems with it, so this is definitely an option for me.

The fourth product to go was my Lush Eau Roma water that came in my Christmas stocking. I’ve mentioned before that I am considering making a knock off Eau Roma at home (it’s glorified lavendar water with rose essential oils…) but I am very worried about the possible side effects of over-exposure to essential oils. Basically, I might put too much in the facial spray and wind up sensitising my skin to lavender or rose for the rest of my life. Not ideal!

As I am currently taking off my makeup with coconut oil and a hot wash cloth, I am considering repurchasing the ER water to help wash off any residual oil. My main concern are the unidentified ‘fragrances’ that Lush uses, as they’re unregulated and not marked as organic.

The fifth and final bottle that I used up in April was my SVR Sebiaclear eau micellaire. It’s designed for oily and sensitive skin, and it uses hydrogenated castor oil, which has not irritated my skin. Still, once it ran out and I switched over to coconut oil and a Fresh facewash sample, I didn’t notice a huge difference in the clarity and texture of my skin.

Had I broken out or started drying up in weird patches, I would definitely repurchase this micellar water. As it is, it’s not a bad product, I just don’t think it’s responsible for the glowy-skin feeling that I had.

Ultimately, I may or may not repurchase the Eau Roma water, but I’m looking elsewhere for active ingredients like niacinamide, squalene, and hyaluronic acid. I’ve heard great things about The Ordinary, and may purchase their products containing these ingredients once I’ve totally run out of skincare items.

 

5 thoughts on “April Empties : Skincare”

    1. Hi Ruth – I would definitely recommend a serum if you’re looking for a little extra kick to your skincare routine! There’s a lot of information out there, but there are definitely some ‘usual suspects’ when it comes to what works for different skin needs.

      I’m going to continue using up my skincare, and assess what my skin actually ‘needs,’ or rather, what products would benefit my skin the most. I may not need all the products that I’m using, but we shall certainly see 🙂

      Good luck on your search for a serum!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

