Consumption, Cosmetics, Ethical Choices

I Tried : Organic-ish Shampoo

Not exactly a blockbuster title, but I switched shampoos with mixed results.

As part of my movement to integrate my interest in sustainability into my daily life, I’m working slowly through my cosmetics and personal care products. Once they’re gone, I’m either working through the ingredients to see how “safe” they are, or switching to an organic alternative.

When it came to my shampoo, I wasn’t about to work through the entire list of ingredients on the back of a Head and Shoulder’s bottle. Instead, I looked for some organic alternatives and their consumer reviews.

I found two brands with three different kinds of shampoos that I liked. Logona makes an ginkgo repair shampoo and a bamboo cream shampoo to help with ‘gloss.’ While neither of these shampoos are 100% organic, % concentrations of organic ingredients are in the high 90s for both products. The shampoos are produced in Germany, with ingredients sourced internationally from organic producers.

I’m working toward 100% organic, something like a shampoo from 100% Pure, but I’m also looking for more locally produced (i.e. not shipped to me from California) products. The fact that I can buy shampoo from my co-op is convenient, sure, but it’s also sustaining my neighbourhood merchants and a reasonably-local manufacturer.

I bought the bamboo brilliance shampoo a few weeks ago, and my results have been mixed. If you take a look at the ingredient list, you’ll note that usual detergents/surfactants like sodium laureth sulfate are noticeably absent.

  • Aqua (Water), Coco Glucoside, Alcohol*, Glycerin, Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Brassica Oleracea Italica (Broccoli) Seed Oil*, Sodium PCA, Glyceryl Oleate, Xanthan Gum, Bambusa Vulgaris Extract, Arginine, Hydrolyzed Silk, Parfum (Essential Oils), Phytic Acid, Citric Acid, Citral, Limonene, Linalool

*from controlled organic cultivation

The shampoo is noticeably less foaming as a result (duh) but I have so much hair that I end up using more shampoo to wash the same amount of scalp/roots.

As E and I share shampoo, we’ll probably purchase another bottle somewhere in the next 5-6 weeks. 2 months for a bottle of shampoo is a pretty decent run, but I will not repurchase the bamboo or try the Logona ginkgo shampoo just yet. Instead, I’d like to give Lavera’s “Repair & Care Shampoo Organic Rose & Plant Keratin” a fair go – it has organic ingredients as well.

Lavera’s rose shampoo has a more complicated ingredient list, and sodium coco sulfate is right at the top. I’m hoping that will produce a bit more lather and a cleaner feeling that lasts more than a few days.

  • WATER (AQUA), SODIUM COCO-SULFATE, LAURYL GLUCOSIDE, BETAINE, SEA SALT (MARIS SAL), ROSA DAMASCENA FLOWER WATER*, PRUNUS PERSICA (PEACH) FRUIT EXTRACT*, TRITICUM VULGARE (WHEAT) GERM EXTRACT*, ORYZA SATIVA (RICE) EXTRACT*, PRUNUS AMYGDALUS DULCIS (SWEET ALMOND) SEED EXTRACT*, AVENA SATIVA (OAT) STRAW EXTRACT*, OLEA EUROPAEA (OLIVE) FRUIT EXTRACT*, GLYCINE SOJA (SOYBEAN) GERM EXTRACT*, PCA GLYCERYL OLEATE, DISODIUM COCOYL GLUTAMATE, SODIUM COCOYL GLUTAMATE, HYDROLYSED CORN PROTEIN, HYDROLYSED WHEAT PROTEIN, HYDROLYSED SOY PROTEIN, LEUCONOSTOC/RADISH ROOT FERMENT FILTRATE, SODIUM HYALURONATE, CITRIC ACID, LACTIC ACID, TARTARIC ACID, SODIUM PHYTATE, ALCOHOL*, FRAGRANCE (NATURAL ESSENTIAL OILS)

As with Logona’s shampoo, Lavera is not 100% organic. I have to go to a different shop to find it, as the chain “Mademoiselle Bio” is the only place I’ve found in Paris that stocks Lavera. While there, I’ll ask them if they have any certified organic shampoos.

When asking around for 100% certified organic shampoos, the response I usually get is that x, y, z shampoo is “all natural.” I’ve got another post to write on the idea of natural = good, chemical = bad that is really pervasive in the environmental/organic/sustainable movement. Considering literally everything is chemicals, the conversation is a little more nuanced.

If you’ve tried/loved a 100% organic shampoo that’s made in Europe and retailed in France, please let me know!

2 thoughts on “I Tried : Organic-ish Shampoo”

Leave a Reply

